Is Rover worth it for pet sitters and dog walkers?
It depends mostly on how soon you need income and what you expect the Rover Guarantee to cover. For what the work itself pays, see dog walking and pet sitting.
Rover makes sense if
You want to start without joining a waitlist
You want pet injury costs backed by a published cap
Choose another platform if
You need to start earning within a few weeks
You want protection if you are hurt on the job
You want to take regular clients off the app to avoid fees
How much Rover takes from your pay
Rover's service fee comes out of each booking rather than as an upfront charge. The owner service fee is added to the client's bill, so it doesn't come out of your rate, though it does raise what owners pay. California works differently: owners pay Rover's fee on top, and the rate you set is what you take home.
Rover fees
From a $100 drop-in visit
$80you keep
Rover keeps$20
- Rover keeps
Taken from each booking, outside California. No upfront fee.
The rate you set is what you take home.
- Cost to apply
Terms say review fee may apply
A non-refundable profile review fee; the amount isn’t published.
The calculator uses $22 as an example price. That is the average drop-in visit price in Rover's national cat-sitting guide, an undated Rover figure. The 30-minute visit length is also an example. It applies the 20% fee, so add your own travel time and costs.
What you'd keep per drop-in visit
Prefilled from the sources below. Change any number to match your situation.
- $17.60
- $35.20
- $176
How and when Rover pays you
Rover releases each booking's pay two days after the service, and Stripe can take up to five more business days to reach your bank, so plan on about a week between finishing a job and spending the money. Payouts require a Social Security number and a bank account via Stripe. Tips are added to your account within 24 hours of the client's tip.
How Rover pays
Service completed
- Tax forms
1099-K above federal threshold
Over 200 transactions and $20,000 (2025). States may set lower thresholds.
Joining Rover, step by step
Choose services and set up
Pick your services and set rates and availability.
Profile and testimonials
Complete your profile and request testimonials.
Safety quiz
Taken from your Rover account.
Background check
Run by First Advantage; needs your full legal name and SSN.
Identity verification
Part of onboarding alongside the background check.
Submit for review
Rover emails you when your profile is approved.
Services go live
After approval and a passed background check.
From applying to first payout
Adds up Rover's approval and payout times.
about 2–4 weeks
Rover requirements and how long approval takes
Rover's terms say you certify you are at least 18 or the age of majority where you live, whichever is higher. Providers must be legally eligible and hold any needed licenses or permits where they work. Rover's sitter FAQ says sitters and walkers are independent contractors, not employees.
Onboarding covers a safety quiz, profile, service setup, background check and identity verification. Rover says profile review takes 10-20 business days, with an email on approval. Services become visible only after both approval and a passed background check.
First Advantage runs the background check. It confirms citizenship/SSN, driving record and criminal history, and credit is not included. U.S. sitters need a full legal name with middle name and a Social Security number. Rover's enhanced check adds a sex offender registry search, a national criminal database search and county court records by address history. Rover says its checks have limits, because records can be incomplete and rely on information applicants submit. In Los Angeles County, approval is contingent on successful completion and Rover review of criminal history. The terms add that Rover may obtain consumer reports throughout your engagement, not only at sign-up.
The terms also say providers may be charged a non-refundable profile review fee at sign-up. The amount is not stated there, and Rover's help pages don't mention one.
Rover requirements
- Background check
Run by First Advantage: identity, driving record, criminal history.
Checks may continue after sign-up
Rover may pull consumer reports while you’re active.
- Also required
Done alongside the background check.
Legally eligible, with any permits
Including any local licenses or permits for pet care.
How much you can make on Rover
Rover doesn't publish average monthly earnings with a sample, a method or a date, and no independent dataset measures them. What Rover does publish is marketing. It says Austin sitters can earn up to $3,300 a month or more and repeats a generic $1,000 a month or more. For Tampa, Rover says $1,000 a month or more, and twice as much for boarding sitters.
Figures Rover publishes
The $29.21 Austin figure is a nightly rate, not monthly earnings. A rate says nothing about how many bookings you get. Subtract Rover's fee (20% outside California) and your unpaid travel and messaging time before you judge pay. The hourly earnings guide shows how.
Can Rover deactivate your account?
Yes. Rover's account action policy, last updated Dec 30, 2024, allows a pause, temporary suspension or permanent closure. Intentionally avoiding Rover's service fees is listed as grounds. If a client pays you directly, Rover says the booking is not covered by the Guarantee or 24/7 support and both parties may be suspended.
The Rover Guarantee caps vet-cost reimbursement at $25,000 per occurrence in the U.S. You pay a $250 minimum contribution toward injury to your own pet, and requests below it get no reimbursement. Claims must be reported by phone or email during the booking or within 48 hours. Costs incurred more than 30 days after an injury are excluded. The Guarantee does not cover injuries to sitters or owners, so a bite to you is not reimbursed by it. Meet & Greets and services not booked and paid through Rover are also excluded. Rover describes the Guarantee as a reimbursement program mainly meant to protect pets, not a substitute for your own liability insurance.
Is Rover legit?
Rover was founded in 2011 and is headquartered in Seattle. A Form 8-K reproduced by MarketScreener describes A Place for Rover, Inc., its operating entity, as a wholly-owned subsidiary of Rover Group, Inc. On Nov 29, 2023, an SEC filing announced an agreement to be acquired by Blackstone at $11.00 per share in cash.
In Sportsman v. A Place for Rover, a California class action alleged Rover misclassified sitters and walkers as independent contractors. Bloomberg Law reported on Jul 19, 2023 that a federal judge approved a $23.5 million settlement ($18 million cash and $5.5 million in future benefits) covering 88,704 class members. A settlement is not a finding of liability. Earlier, on Oct 20, 2022, the operating entity agreed to an $18.0 million settlement in the same case, covering California providers since November 2018.
Rover company record
History
Scams that use Rover's name
Rover's security page lists these patterns:
The FTC says no legitimate employer sends a check to deposit and asks you to send part on, and lists nanny, caregiver and virtual assistant ads among those that use this trick. It also says fake checks can take weeks to be discovered, leaving you to repay the bank. See how to spot side-hustle scams.
Taxes on Rover income
Rover's sitter FAQ says sitters and walkers are independent contractors, not employees. Rover's tax page says sitters with more than 200 transactions and $20,000 in processed payments in 2025 get a 1099-K, and that your state may send one at a lower threshold. The 1099-K doesn't show your net earnings, so Rover posts a 1099-K summary in your account each January. Income counts whether or not a form arrives. The IRS gig economy page covers reporting and self-employment tax.
Rover vs other pet care apps
Rover and Taskrabbit publish their fees and payout timing. Most of Wag's figures come from third-party reports, and on Care.com families pay you directly, so there's no platform fee to compare. The pet care category has more options.
| Platform | What it keeps from you | When you get paid | Approval time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rover | 20% of each booking | 2 days after each service | 10–20 business days |
| Care.com | Pay negotiated directly† | Not published | Not published |
| Taskrabbit | Taskers keep 100% of rate | 1–3 business days | No set timeline; rolling basis |
| Wag | 40% of the service price† | Weekly, on Fridays† | 14 days on average |
Rover questions
Rover's terms say providers may be charged a non-refundable profile review fee at sign-up. The amount is not stated, and Rover's help pages don't mention one.
Rover says an off-platform booking is not covered by the Guarantee or 24/7 support, and both parties may be suspended. Intentionally avoiding Rover's service fees is listed as grounds for account action up to closure.
Rover's help center says sign-up is open anytime and mentions no waitlist. Los Angeles County sitters face an added review of criminal history before approval.
Sources
Government
- Gig economy tax center
IRS · Accessed
- Rover Agrees to be Acquired by Blackstone in $2.3 Billion Transaction (8-K Ex. 99.1)
SEC EDGAR / Rover Group, Inc. · Accessed
- How to spot, avoid, and report fake check scams
FTC · Accessed
- Job scams
FTC · Accessed
Official platform and company pages
- Rover + Taxes: What You Need to Know
Rover · Accessed
- How do I submit a background check?
Rover · Accessed
- How do I become a pet sitter or dog walker on Rover?
Rover · Accessed
- Rover Guarantee
Rover · Accessed
- What do sitters need to know about the Rover Guarantee?
Rover · Accessed
- How do I get paid for bookings?
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- Becoming a sitter: Frequently asked questions
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- Fees and rates in California
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- What are the service fees?
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- How Much Do Cat Sitters Charge?
Rover · Accessed
- How do I become a pet sitter or dog walker on Rover?
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- Sitter and dog walker background checks
Rover · Accessed
- Terms of Service (effective Aug 17, 2026)
Rover · Accessed
- What are the service fees?
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- Account Action and Deactivation Policy
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- What if a client wants to pay me directly—not on Rover's site?
Rover Help Center · Accessed
- How can I keep my Rover account secure?
Rover · Accessed
- Pet Sitting Jobs in Austin, TX
Rover · Accessed
- Tampa Pet Sitting Jobs
Rover · Accessed
News and community reports
- Blackstone completes $2.3 billion acquisition of Rover Group
Investing.com · Accessed
- Rover Will Pay $23.5 Million in Walkers' Misclassification Suit
Bloomberg Law · Accessed
- ROVER GROUP, INC.: Other Events (form 8-K)
MarketScreener (reproducing SEC Form 8-K) · Accessed